Go to current week.

Announcement: Mini-conference on dualities in physics and mathematics (March 16-20)
Date
Time
Place*
Speaker
Title
Comments, Links,...
Mon, Jan 5
2:00 pm
Aud
Program Organisers
Organisational Meeting with all Participants

Tue, Jan 6
11:00 am
MSR
Barton Zwiebach
Introduction to String Field Theory I

References for string
field theory lectures:
Three nice old short reviews:
Is the String Field Big Enough ? B. Zwiebach. Fortschr.Phys.49 (2001) 387.
String Field Theory. Leonardo Rastelli (hep-th/0509129)
String Field Theory. Wati Taylor (hep-th/0605202).
Open string field theory basics: Tachyon potentials, star products and universality. Rastelli and Zwiebach (hep-th/0006240)
For more recent developments: Analytic solution ... M. Schnabl (hep-th/0511286)
Comments on Schnabl's ..... Y. Okawa (hep-th/0603159)
A comprehensive recent review: Analytical Solutions of Open String Field Theory. Fuchs and Kroyter 0807.4722

2:00 pm
MSR
Nathan Berkovits
Introduction to Pure Spinors I

Pure spinor lectures
will be loosely based
on these:
hep-th/0209059 (Nathan's ICTP lecture notes),
hep-th/0609006 (multiloop amplitudes and non-renorm. theorems),
hep-th/0702083 (quantum consistency of AdS background).
Wed, Jan 7
11:00 am
MSR
Barton Zwiebach
Introduction to String Field Theory II


3:30 pm
MSR
Nathan Berkovits
Introduction to Pure Spinors II

Thu, Jan 8
11:00 am
MSR
Martin Schnabl
Introduction to String Field Theory III


3:30 pm
MSR
Pierre Vanhove
Introduction to Pure Spinors III

Fri, Jan 9
10:00 am
Aud

Discussion of string field theory
and pure spinor review lectures

Mon., Jan 12
11:00 am
Aud
Yuji Okawa
Introduction to String Field Theory IV


2:00 pm
Aud
Luca Mazzucato
Introduction to Pure Spinors IV

Tues, Jan 13
10:30 am
2:00 pm
FR

Aud
Michael Kroyter

Dmitri Sorokin
Informal discussion of open superstring field theory

The complete AdS(4)xCP(3) superspace
for the Type IIA superstring and D-branes


Wed, Jan 14
10:00 am
Aud
Warren Siegel
Projective superspace

Thur, Jan 15
12:00 pm
Aud
Michael Kiermaier
Riemann surfaces in Schnabl gauge


1:00 pm
Aud
Yuji Okawa
The boundary state from open string fields

Tues, Jan 20
10:30 am
2:00 pm
SSR

Aud
Everyone

Nikita Nekrasov
Interesting open problems

Pure spinors, beta-gammas, super-Yang-Mills and Chern-Simons

Wed, Jan 21
10:30 am
Aud
Edward Frenkel
Instantons beyond topological theory

Thur, Jan 22
12:30 pm
Aud
Kostas Skenderis
BRST derivation of the pure spinor amplitude prescription and anomalies

Thur, Jan 22
3:30 pm
SH 6635
Edward Frenkel
Langlands Duality and Mirror Symmetry, I (UCSB Distinguished Lectures in the Mathematical Sciences)

Fri, Jan 23
10:30 am
Aud
Nathan Berkovits
Informal discussion of beta-gamma systems and non-minimal fields

Fri, Jan 23
3:30 pm
SH 6635
Edward Frenkel
Langlands Duality and Mirror Symmetry, II (UCSB Distinguished Lectures in the Mathematical Sciences)

Mon, Jan 26
10:30 am
Aud
Nikita Nekrasov
Pure spinors, beta-gammas, super-Yang-Mills and Chern-Simons, part 2

Tues, Jan 27
2:00 pm
Aud
Leonardo
Rastelli
Integrability and holography in the Veneziano limit?

Wed., Jan 28
10:30 am
Aud
Brenno Vallilo
Informal discussion of hybrid formalism and flux compactification

Thur, Jan 29
12:30 pm
Aud
Massimo Bianchi
(Unoriented) T-folds with few T's and L-R asymmetric D-branes

Fri, Jan 30
1:30 pm
Aud
Pietro Grassi
Informal discussion of lower-dimensional pure spinors and non-critical strings

Tues, Feb 3
2:00 pm
Aud
Matthias Staudacher
Introduction to AdS/CFT integrability: What exactly is a magnon?

Weds, Feb 4
10:30 am
Aud
Andrei Mikhailov
Overview of pure spinors and integrability

Thurs, Feb 5
12:30 pm
Aud
Vladimar Kazakov
Integrability for the full spectrum of planar AdS/CFT
arXiv/0812.5091
arxiv/0901.3753
Fri, Feb 6
1:30 pm
Aud
Nathan Berkovits
Perturbative super-Yang-Mills and the topological AdS_5 x S^5 string
arxiv/0812.5074
Mon, Feb 9
2:00 pm
Aud
Charles Thorn
Lightcone worldsheet approaches to Field/String duality


4:30 pm
FR
PierreVanhove
Technical discussion on pure spinors

Tues, Feb 10
2:00 pm
Aud
Pedro Vieira
Luscher formulas and the four loop Konishi operator


4:30 pm
FR
Yuri Aisaka
Technical discussion on pure spinors

Weds, Feb 11
10:30 am
Aud
Stefan Zieme
The virtual scaling function of AdS/CFT


4:30 pm
FR
Ido Adam
Technical discussion on pure spinors

Thurs, Feb 12
12:30 pm
Aud
Hirosi Ooguri
Crystal melting and quantum Calabi-Yau


3:30 pm
SSR
everyone
Discussion: Open questions and future directions in integrability and AdS/CFT (led by Volodya Kazakov)

Fri, Feb 13
9:30 am-5:00 pm
MSR

Stanley Mandelstam Fest Schedule

Tues, Feb 17
2:00 pm
Aud
Niklas Beisert
Dual (Super) Conformal Symmetry and Integrability

Weds, Feb 18
10:30 am
Aud
Volker Schomerus
Non-linear Superspace Sigma Models

Thurs, Feb 19
12:30 pm
Aud
Andy Strominger
The Kerr/CFT correspondence


3:30 pm
MSR
Tristan McLoughlin
AdS4/CFT and integrability

Mon, Feb 23





Tues, Feb 24
10:30am
Aud
Andy Strominger
Chiral Gravity, Log Gravity and Extremal CFT


2:00 pm
Aud
Igor Klebanov
Warped Conifolds and D-Brane Inflation

Weds. Feb 25
10:30 am
Aud
Didina Serban
Pedagogical lecture: Bethe equations at strong coupling

Thurs, Feb26
10:00am
Aud
Juan Maldacena
Scattering Amplitudes at Strong Coupling

Tues, Mar3
2:00pm
SSR
everyone
Discussion: Topics for flux period

Wed,Mar4
10:30am
Aud
Sakura-Schafer-
Nameki
A Toolkit for F-theory Model
Building


Thur, Mar5
12:30pm
Aud
Soo-Jong Rey
Aspect of Wilson Loops in
AdS_4-ABJM


Fri, Mar 6
10:30 am
Aud
Thomas Grimm
GUTS in Type IIB Orientifolds

Tues, March10
2:00 pm
Aud
Ruben Minasian
Fluxes, Generalized Complex
Geometry and Dualities

Wed.
March 11
10:30 am
Aud
Timo Weigand
Review of D-brane instantons in type II
orientifolds

Thurs.
March 12
12:30pm
Aud
Katrin Becker
Heterotic Torsional Geometries

Fri.
March 13
1:30pm
Aud
Ron Donagi
TBA

March 16-20


Schedule:
Mini-conference on dualities in physics and mathematics


Tues.
March 24
2:00pm
Aud
Wolfgang
Lerche
Matrix Factorizations, Disk
Instantons and Mirror
Symmetry

Wed.
March 25
10:30am
Aud
Wati Taylor
Freedom and Constraints in
the Landscape of Intersecting/magnetized
Branes

Tues.
March 31
2:00pm
Aud
Liam McAllister
Advances in Inflation in String Theory

Wed.
April 1
10:30am
Aud.
Eva Silverstein
TBA

Thur.
April 2
12:30pm
Aud.
Shamit Kachru
TBA

Tues. Apr 7
2:00pm
Aud.
Mukund Rangamani
Overview of Galileen holography

Weds. Apr 8
10:30am
Aud
Radu Roiban
UV finiteness of Pohlmeyer-reduced form of the AdS_5xS^5 superstring theory

Thurs Apr 9
12:30pm
Aud
Ben Freivogel
Review of measures in eternal inflation

Frid Apr10
1.30pm
Aud
moderator:
Eva Silverstein
Discussion on Inflation

Tues. Apr
14
2pm
Aud
Joan Simon
Extremal Black Holes

Weds Apr 15
10:30am
Aud
Albion Lawrence
Seeing behind the horizon of a black hole

Thurs Apr 16
12:30pm
Aud
Rob Myers
Beyond eta/s=1/4pi

Fri Apr 17
1:30pm
SSR

Integrability discussion: Arkady Tseytlin: Exponential effects; short string corrections. Valentina Forini: Reciprocity in AdS/CFT

Weds Apr 22
10:30am
Aud
Jeff Harvey
The Pomeron contribution to p-p scattering in AdS/QCD

Thurs Apr 23
12:30am
Aud
Sav Sethi
Non-geometries, Geometries and Fluxes

Tues Apr 28
2:00 pm
Aud
Ami Hanany
Brane Tilings, M2 Branes and Chern Simons theories

Thurs Apr 30
12:30 pm
Aud
Joe Polchinski
Holography from CFT

Fri May 1
1:30 pm
Aud
Josh Lapan
Torsional Geometries and Linear Models

Tues May 5
2 pm
Aud
David Morrison
Non-geometric heterotic compactifications

Weds May 6
10:30 am
Aud
Nick Dorey
Spiky Strings and Spin Chains

Thurs May 7
12:30 pm
Aud
Koji Hashimoto
Nuclear Force from String Theory

Fri May 8
1:30 pm
Aud
Sarah Shandera
Non-Gaussianity: Observing high-energy interactions

Tues May 12
2 pm
Aud
Nadav Drukker
Superprotected n-point functions of local operators in N=4 supersymmetric Yang-Mills

Weds May 13
10:30 pm
Aud
Louis Leblond
The Perturbative Regime of Inflation and Loop Corrections

Thurs May 14
12:30 pm
Aud
Rajesh Gopakumar
Galilean Conformal Algebra and AdS/CFT

"
2:00 pm
Broida 3302
Diego Trancanelli
tHooft Meets Wilson: Disorder Operators, Matrix Models, and S-Duality


Fri May 15
1:30 pm
Aud
Shiraz Minwalla
Rapid Scale Dependent Thermalization from Gravity

Mon. May 18
12.30pm
Aud
David Lowe
Black Hole Complementarity from AdS/CFT

Miniworkshop on 3D Gravity:





Tue.May 19
12.30pm

2.00pm

Aud
Melanie Becker

Geoffrey Compere

Overview of 3D Gravity

The Extremal Black Hole/CFT
Correspondence


Wed. May 20
10.30am

12.30pm

1.00pm

1.30pm

2.00pm

Aud
Stephan Detournay

Matt Roberts

Sean Downes

Tomas Andrade

Aaron Amsel

Warped AdS_3 Space-Times in Gravity and String theory

No Dynamics in the Extremal Kerr Throat

Chiral Supergravity

Is Chiral Gravity a truncation of Log Gravity?

Supergravity at the Boundary of AdS Supergravity


Th. May 21
12.30pm
Aud.
Emery
Sokatchev

Scattering Amplitudes/Wilson Loops Duality, Dual Conformal Symmetry and all That

Fr.May 22
1.30pm
Aud.
Veronika
Hubeny

Dynamical Black Holes and Holographic Dual of Entropy

Tues May 26
12:30 pm
MSR
Aaron Bergmann
Gauge Theories and D-branes at Singularities

Wed May 27
10:30 am
Aud
Sera Cremonini
Higher derivative corrections and the violation of the viscosity to entropy bound

Thurs May 28
12:30 pm
Aud
Matt Headrick
Tachyon Actions in String Theory

Frid. May 29
1:30pm
Aud
Amihay Hanany
Finding M-theory dual to type IIA backgrounds with RR flux

*Aud=Auditorium, SSR=Small Seminar Room, MSR=Main Seminar Room, FR=Founders' Room, SH=South Hall (across campus)

For recorded talks and lecture notes, go to **KITP Online**

[TOP]